Salud, Kids!
Whoa, we've got gorgeous sun today, but it's chilly and made the glass on the outside doors and windows all frosty and shimmery looking, don't you think? Just had to share it, not that you care how frosty I am. Yeah, some people would say in more ways than one, but that's another blog.
Instead of weather or my many personality flaws, I'm going to come straight out and admit that I wasted valuable time the other evening on the WORST show you can imagine. I assure you the only reason I continued to give it the time of night was the location. Like enduring a dreadfully dull evening with boring people, I sat and watched as Giuliana and Bill, a dreadfully dull couple, fussed and fumed all over Hong Kong. What a couple. Couple of what is yet to be determined. I only give this space here because of one particular statement uttered by the annoyingly idiotic, Giuliana, which made me sniff and snort with irritation. Just a small bit, but so very telling. After receiving a compliment on her boots she sort of dismissed it with a wave and utterance of them being from last year. I swear she even tilted her head so her nose was elevated, every so slightly in the air.
As we swirl and twirl and toss our bargain hunting secrets for living large and spending small here at Cheeply Chic, a statement in that vein is more than shallow and vain. It is absurd. People are hurting, all over the world and facing financial challenges like never before, and some twit on television has the audacity to say her freaking boots are from last year. Beyotch, please! Even my beautiful and tolerant Cavi-Girl hid her face during this frivolous crap.
I decided to make a little pile of some of my boots (I promise my shoes aren't THAT much of a mess, well, not so much anyway) and snap them for you. I think they look swell...worn, but with character. So, today I salute all you kids who, like me, have been zipping and snapping on the same boots from not only last year...but, the year before that, and that, and that. I will admit the need for boot wearing isn't crushingly important here in The Palm Beaches, but my boots are still being worn, a little, and they look just fine to me. Sorry, Guiliana, if you don't approve. Boots are made for wearing 'n walking...no matter the year made. May I suggest G (as Bill calls her) get her boot-clad pinkies down-to-earth, like the majority of us?
Now, I don't recommend the Bill and Idiot show, but I do recommend the Hans Schiller Mosul wine you don't see in that lovely empty green bottle. It's German and quite inexpensive at Total Wine, so when you want a cool and refreshing white on a warm evening, pop the cork and give it a sip. I don't think you'll regret the few dollars spent.
Oh, this white was found by Gaz during one of our Wine Roulette games. Sabrina, let me know how it goes with you and T, okay? I think we should make Wine Roulette an official game all across the country...heck let's make it international. Think of the great time we could have!
Bye now!
Pamme
Personally, I am a HUGE fan of shoes with character. I mean don't get me wrong, I like new shoes too, but boots...those are supposed to have character...heels on the other hand, no character is necessary ;)
ReplyDeleteMaybe part of the whole character in boots is in part to the true Texan in me...I mean nobody wants to dance with the guy with the new boots...a good dancer always has some boots with character! The other part of me that appreciates the character in a pair of boots is definitely the cheap side of me!
Yes, ol' Guiliana, she nerves me almost as much as the 2 yr old on my flight back from San Diego that refused to stop crying...the entire flight! Talk about glad to land today!
Sabrina, I know what you mean about being glad to land. Sometimes you just want to cheer when those tires burn rubber and the plane comes to a halt. Glad you are back from one of my favorite cities in the country. Love SD!!
ReplyDeleteYeah, you know me and shoes. I probably should have disclosed my addiction, ha. Still, I just thought it poor form on her part at a tough time for the general public. Plus, she just annoys the hell out me, in general. Seems so unpleasant. Had NO idea they were on The View today until I read it on another blog tonight. I feel for them and their struggle to have a child, but she got raked in the comments on one blog. Evidently, she came across in a negative way, even on the topic of a baby. Bill seems nice though.
Love, love, love your participation on cheeply...stay with me!!!